Nourishment.

August 11, 2011 § Leave a comment

One happy by-product of harvest day at the World Hunger Relief Farm was this delicious home-made pizza!

I wish I’d snapped a picture of the lovely bunch of basil I brought home, but I did at least catch the end result.

Home-made Pizza

This was my first shot at pizza dough away from home (aww Mom always made it for me) and without a bread machine.  The first came out huge and puffy so I stretched the smaller two more. Flat. This one has fresh pepperoni, fresh basil leaves, mushrooms, and bell peppers.  I made a little vegan one for the roommate (no cheese) and one for M for the weekend so he wouldn’t starve.  (mildly successful, will leave cereal next time)

We enjoyed it with an interesting concoction of hand-squeezed watermelon juice and Moscato wine.  A week ago Michael and I ventured out to a nearby flea market I hadn’t explored (his wonderful idea) and picked up a pile of really cheap produce from Mexico, including two decent sized watermelons for $5!

He got bored one afternoon and decided to make hand squeezed watermelon juice (interesting..) but what to do with the pulp?

It had the consistency of ground beef, he noted, so he decided to bread it in cornmeal, fry it, add a little syrup and powdered sugar and surprise me with a watermelon pancake!

Watermelon Pancake

So very thoughtful! So…not very edible.  But this is the most creative food I’ve seen in a long time, so kudos. top that. hahaha…

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nourishment. at Katy's Conundrum.

meta